Social Advocacy: Giving my son a voice

23 05 2010

Parents of children with exceptionalities (aka disabilities) see things that parents of the “normal” kids don’t notice –the volume of a movie, the ceiling fan, the florescent light that strobes,  the teacher who only explains verbally… We can complain– or we can educate.

Business owners, neighbors, family, friends, teachers don’t mean any harm (generally speaking) — they just don’t know any better. It’s important for us to educate these folks so that change happens.

I never complain without offering to help solve the problem– If I offer to train their staff at no cost and they don’t take me up on it they don’t have an excuse… and I have more leverage if I need to lodge another complaint.

There is no silver bullet… and unfortunately, education hasn’t always worked for me… I confess that I have filled complaints with the ADA when education has failed but it’s always been last resort.

Remember to be polite, know your facts, ask questions, be persistent and make change!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

