Ten Things Every Child With Autism Wishes You Knew: Part 7; Focus On What I Can Do

11 02 2008

As I’ve mentioned before (Six times now) I recently finished reading the book “Ten Things Every Child With Autism Wishes You Knew by Ellen Notbohm. The full article can be found on-line and the book is available at Amazon.com. Here’s the seventh part from an article by the same name: 

Please focus and build on what I can do rather than what I can’t do. Like any other human, I can’t learn in an environment where I’m constantly made to feel that I’m not good enough and that I need “fixing.”  Trying anything new when I am almost sure to be met with criticism, however “constructive,” becomes something to be avoided.  Look for my strengths and you will find them. There is more than one “right” way to do most things.

I read a great blog this morning–  “Soccer Moms” February 6th on http://asdmommy.wordpress.com/  Check it out. C’s mom puts it so well!  (Thanks, Darcy!)

We need to pick our battles, work on encouraging and building self esteem in our children (be they autistic or not) and strengthen their skills.  Does it really matter if they score a goal? Does it matter if they are exceptional musicians or mathematicians?

What does matter is that our children are confident and complemented. What does matter is that they are loved for being themselves. What does matter is that they try.

Actions

Information

One response

11 02 2008
wilddaisy33

I love this book….it’s so wonderful and helpful! I have a friend who gets annoyed when people ask what her ASD son’s “special skill” is, and I realize the pendulum has swung so far in the other direction now everyone thinks our kids are all savants! But at least they’re thinking about our kids and recognizing their brains work in interesting ways, savant or not.

D

She should tell them her son is a mind reader– that’ll freak them out! 🙂 I do believe that autistic people do have diferent concentrations– like with Echolalia– C and J have audiographic memories! 🙂 LOL! It’s all a matter of perspective!

Leave a Reply

