J Is Sick: Autism and Medicine

11 02 2008

J is the pickiest eater I know.  But, most autistic folks are picky eaters so, he’s not really unusual in that regard. J is partial to white food.  White bread with only butter, pancakes, Cheerios, crackers are his main staples– but, he will eat gummy bears so I can sneak in vitamins… he also eats chocolate– only the milk chocolate and without crunchies, caramel or fruit. He only drinks water and white milk so at least we don’t have to worry about a sugar addiction.

You can imagine how hard it is to get him to take medicine when he’s sick!

I’m learning some tricks. For his cough we use a mixture of honey and lemon in a sippy cup with a straw so he can’t see or smell it before it’s in his mouth… he doesn’t like it but when we give him the choice of drinking the honey and lemon or taking “yucky medicine” he makes a face and takes it.

He had a pretty high fever yesterday and so he had to take cool baths– that was unpleasant to say the least.  It breaks my heart when he cries! But again it was a choice between the bath and the “yucky medicine” so he took the bath.

For his congestion I wrapped lavender and eucalyptus in cheese cloth and tossed it in a warm humidifier and smeared his chest and back with Bath and Body Works Eucalyptus aromatherapy lotion (or Vick’s Baby rub– it has Rosemary and camomile in it so is less abrasive and is relaxing).  (Ginger and Peppermint also work so if you try it use whatever combination you prefer) He doesn’t like the smell and tries to wipe it off with his shirt so it’s still on him and doing it’s job.  We used to use the Triaminic patches but they pulled them off the market claiming that they didn’t work– who makes these decisions?  What about the kids that can’t take medicine?

In our house it’s a two man job to give J medicine. He becomes very agitated and it’s not worth it… he feels worse and that’s counter productive!

I do slide the “Little colds strips” into his mouth  and swab his nose with Zycam while he is sleeping.  The cold strips melt in his mouth like those breath strips.  I either tear them into smaller pieces or fold them up to get them in his little mouth.  It works and it makes me feel like James Bond! Kinda sneaky…

There are a ton of home remedies that can be found on-line and are non-toxic, cheap- if you don’t already have the ingredients- and are more easily tolerated by my little guy so, I’d be comfortable suggesting that you give it a try. 

Note: I’m working to reduce the use of chemicals in our home and switching over to home remedies, cleaning products and from scratch foods.  Please share your tricks!

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 02 2008
Karen Halls

I found your site on google blog search and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. Just added your RSS feed to my feed reader. Look forward to reading more from you.

Karen Halls

Thanks, Karen!

11 02 2008
wilddaisy33

I figured someone at your house was sick – meant to email you but I’ve been sick too!

Anyway, hope he’s better soon. I know about the fight in taking meds – a clerk at a health food store became so irate with me the other day because she kept trying to sell me dissolvable pills for C – I kept saying he wouldn’t try them and she said I should dissolve them in water – “but they’re sweet!” she said…I said it didn’t matter and she then asked me if my kid didn’t “drink liquids?” Smart a*# – I wanted to smack her.

Anyhooo…I have a great recipe for general cleaner that I use for sinks, tubs, counters, showers, etc. made from vinegar, baking soda, liquid soap and water. LOVE it as I can clean the shower while I’m in it. Let me know if you want the recipe.

Everybody ok at your house? I noticed you missed a few days in there and figured you and/or C were sick… Hope you’re better now! People just don’t get the whole “picky” food thing! You should take the B#$%@ a copy of the 10 things article! What nerve! Drink liquids– “No, twit! He drinks solids!” 🙂 Just pray she doesn’t have an autistic child… poor kid (the child, not the twit) would really have a rough go of it!

I’d love to have your recipie! Thanks, Darcy!

Leave a Reply

