Hitting Teachers is Never Ok– Even If You Have Autism

4 02 2008

Well, the little guy had a really rough day today. He doesn’t like gym class and from time to time there are issues.  Today was pretty ugly.

He hit his teacher’s aide– then, kicked her. So he’s in punishment; confined to his room with no movies.  That’s torture for him.

I feel bad about it and he can’t tell me what brought it on.  “Why” doesn’t jive with J. He can handle what, when, who but “why” is a stumper.  He doesn’t seem to understand motivation. It’s hard to deal with when I don’t know what led up to it.

Last week was the little guy who sits next to him on the bus. I don’t know what happened there– they’ve always gotten along well. I don’t know if that was an accident or if he purposefully whacked the poor kid.

It’s never ok to hit a friend– or a teacher– even if you have Autism.

Actions

Information

One response

5 02 2008
lookingforlifeshumor

My son bit another classmate a few months ago – so I can relate. He actually likes timeout and we were so grateful that his “detention” with the Asst Principal involved doing boring chores rather than time out. I have started a blog as well where I can focus on the humorous things that happen, especially in a family with Autism – please come check it out at lookingforlifeshumor.wordpress.com I sometimes forget some of the funny stuff – and find it uplifting to share and read about it. Please come check it out sometime and let me know what you think!

Thanks for sharing about your new blog– it is so easy to focus on the hard-to-deal-with instead of the hard-not-to-laugh-at!

Leave a Reply

