Edwards Is The Only Democrat Who Can Beat McCain

22 01 2008

 That’s my opinion and I’m sticking to it– but, I’m not alone.  A little digging on line found a few reputable sources who share my opinion:

Dave “Mudcat” Saunders of the Huffington Post: “It should be clear to anybody with over a 50 IQ that my boy John Edwards, with his combination of red state electoral experience and toughness, is the only candidate who can beat John McCain.”

EzraKlein Archive of the American Prospect: “John Edwards can swing the populist sledgehammer better than anyone else in American politics.  And whatever else McCain may be armored against, it’s that old hammer that can shatter him.”

December CNN Poll: “Edwards is the only Democrat who beats all four Republicans, and McCain is the only Republican who beats any of the three Democrats. Some might argue this shows that they are the most electable candidates in their respective parties.”

And, according to John Edwards himself: “Well, he (McCain)is starting to look like the Republican nominee, and I think it’s important for us to have somebody to run against McCain who can beat him. And national polls show that I’m the one who beats John McCain in the general election. And second, I think even more important than that, this is a guy who’s made central to his political life campaign finance reform. It seems to me we ought to be putting somebody up against him who’s never taken money from special interest PACs or Washington lobbyists. Between the three of us, that’s me.”

Following the South Carolina Debate, I imagine that in some dark room, deep in the bowels of a stone temple to democracy Clinton and Obama are having “Come to Jesus” conversations with the Party powers. They’ll play nice for a while but, by the time the convention rolls around Clinton and Obama will be out and Edwards will be off for the fight of his life.

With Clinton being so divisive and Obama lacking experience, neither would be able to beat McCain. On the other hand, either could beat Romney or Huckabee. Paul is an unknown quotient although I believe he is more revolutionary than president.

So, here’s my prediction: McCain wins the Republican nomination, Edwards; the Democratic candidate and Edwards becomes our next President.

So that’s  my opinion and I’m sticking to it.

 

Actions

Information

4 responses

22 01 2008
John Edwards » Blog Archive » Edwards Is The Only Democrat Who Can Beat McCain

[…] Suzie-Q wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt That’s my opinion and I’m sticking to it– but, I’m not alone.  A little digging on line found a few reputable sources who share my opinion: Dave “Mudcat” Saunders of the Huffington Post: “It should be clear to anybody with over a 50 IQ that my boy John Edwards, with his combination of red state electoral experience and toughness, is the only candidate who can beat John McCain.” EzraKlein Archive of the American Prospect: “John Edwards can swing the populist sledgehammer better than anyone else in American politics.  And whatever else McCain may be armored against, it’s that old hammer that can shatter him.” December CNN Poll: “Edwards is the only Democrat who beats all four Republicans, and McCain is the only Republican who beats any of the three Democrats. Some might argue this shows that they are the most electable candidates in their respective parties.” And, according to John Edwards himself: “Well, he […] […]

22 01 2008
wilddaisy33

I’m with ya’, sister! I’m not sharing your optimism, however, that Edwards will win the nomination. I don’t think people are thinking that far ahead, unfortunately….

I’ve decided I really like him. He is progressive, and I don’t think the other two can lay claim to that.

I don’t think I’ve ever been so excited to vote in my whole life!

We must hold up the torch of freedom, prosperity and– well, the guy with the best hair! I really don’t think the powers that be in the Democratic party will let anyone who can’t beat the Republican candidate be their nominee… You’re in AZ, right? Is your primary Feb 5? By the time it gets to me on March 5 the delagates will be pretty well lined up. It’s up to you, sister!

23 01 2008
John Mccain » Edwards Is The Only Democrat Who Can Beat McCain

[…] hfamom wrote an interesting post today on Edwards Is The Only Democrat Who Can Beat McCainHere’s a quick excerptAnd national polls show that I’m the one who beats John McCain in the general election. And second, I think even more important than that, this is a guy who’s made central to his political life campaign finance reform. … […]

24 01 2008
JForbes

check out this polling site which shows the match up. http://www.rasmussenreports.com/public_content/politics/favorables/election_2008_democratic_candidates_running_in_2008_presidential_election

My concern is that the media (which is controlled by big business) does not want Edwards to win and is focusing only on Obama and Clinton leading many to believe that Edwards is not able to win, or that the race is essentially over and Edwards should just drop out. I am a big supporter of Edwards even though I am also a feminist and would like to see a woman president. If it comes between voting for the most qualified candidate or Clinton, I’m voting for the most qualified candidate. That candidate is John Edwards.

Great link– thank you! It would be great to have a “first” in the White House be it a woman or black man… unfortunately I don’t think Clinton or Obama are the right ones… Where is Colin Powell when you need him? Fortunately Condi Rice isn’t running!

Leave a Reply

