I Love to Hate Clinton… but there are cracks in my armor

9 01 2008

I don’t like Hillary Clinton. It’s everything and nothing about her. Maybe I’m too old fashioned… maybe she seemed like a big phony… maybe she “stood by her (lying, cheating, SOB) man”… whatever it is– was– I’m starting to re-think my position.

Her contained, lady-like, emotional display earlier this week made me look at her as if she is human for the first time.  I lived in Washington DC when the Clintons arrived– at the time of the very suspicious suicide, at the time when their investments were questioned and there were all kinds of rumors circling about her having an affair of her own… by the time Monica came along I was gone from there and no longer privy to inside the beltway gossip– I’ll bet it was fun at the RNC!!

I have friends who are big Hillary supporters and know her personally. They say that in person she is a real human being– funny, passionate and smart. I’ve never met her and don’t have a personal experience to draw upon.

 Anyway, I’m going to take a new look at her Health Care and Autism Plans and see where that leads me.  Economically– I think she has as good of a shot at fixing things as any of the other top candidates. These are the issues that matter the most to me and will weigh much heavier than their like-ability or what they think about immigration or abortion. I’ll keep you informed of my progress.

Actions

Information

3 responses

9 01 2008
vero

It’s not because she’s a strong woman is it? I don’t get why so many hate Hillary so much. So many have dug so deep into Hillary Clinton’s closets that if there were any real skeletons in there, we would be hearing about it ad nauseam. Think about the attacks on Hillary and how they’re based on gender. I for one couldn’t sleep last night I was so excited that Hillary won NH and at the prospect of a female president. Yippee!

9 01 2008
hfamom

I don’t think it has anything to do with her being a strong woman– I consider myself a strong woman in my own right so that’s not it. I’m not concerned about her skeletons but, I believe my perception of her was slanted by the beltway gossip.

My vote won’t have anything to do with gender or race– I’ll eventually decide on a candidate who I believe will make real strides to “fix” the economy and create an Autism friendly healthcare plan.

Thanks for your thoughts! I really do appreciate your enthusiasm.

21 03 2008
lookingforlifeshumor

I struggle with her too. I just don’t trust her. I don’t know Obama enough to know if I trust him, and I don’t like McCain (my Dad knew him in the Navy – the stories are horrible). This election cycle is going to kill me as I don’t feel like I can vote “for” anyone… The fact that Hilary is female has nothing to do with the trust factor – if anything, it makes me want to like her more – but I just don’t. And don’t get me started on Bill… 🙂

Leave a Reply

